Avuadaiappan to be the new Speaker

DMK has decided to keep both the Speaker and Deputy Speaker posts. The party nominated T Avuadaiappan to the Speaker's post. Avudaiappan is a second term MLA from Ambasamudram constituency in Tirunelveli district. Avuadaiappan is also the district president from 1993 and was responsible for building the party in the region after Vaiko split from the DMK. The party also nominated VP Duraisamy for the post of deputy Speaker. Election for the two posts will be conducted on May 19th. This was announced by the pro-term speaker D Sudarshanam. The DMK's unilateral decision to keep both the posts of speaker and deputy speaker for itself is likely to cause heartburns within the Tamil Nadu state Congress party.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: