DMK ministry sworn in

A 31 member DMK ministry was sworn in earlier today. Governor SS Barnala administered the oath of office to the ministers. Among those sworn in today include, MK Stalin (Local Administration) who makes his debut as a minister, Anbazhagan (Finance), Arcot Veerasami (Electricity & Rural Industries), Ko Si Mani (Cooperation), Veerappandi Arumugam (Agriculture), Durai Murugan (PWD), PTR Palanivelrajan, Ponmudi (Education), KN Nehru (Transportation), MRK Paneerselvan (Backward class Welfare), and I Periyasami (Revnue & Law). Karunanidhi, who becomes Chief Minister for a record fifth time, also holds the important Home Ministry. The swearing in function was held at Nehru Staduim and was attended by senior Congressmen Pranab Mukherjee, and Jaipal Reddy. Several Union Ministers (Mani Shankar Aiyar, P Chidambaram, TR Balu, Anbumani Ramadoss, EVKS Elangovan) and leaders (PMK founder Ramadoss, CPI's D Pandian) also attended the function.

[Update #1] Immediately after the swearing in, Chief Minister Karunanidhi has ordered the waver of loans to farmers, and reduced the price of Rice from Rs. 3.50 to Rs. 2 per kg at the public distribution system


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: