Ending days of suspense, the Congress and DMK signed a seat-sharing accord among the DPA partners for the 30-member Pondicherry Assembly. Under the agreement, the ruling Congress will contest in 16 seats, and the DMK in 11 seats. The PMK will be contest in 2 seats and the CPI has been alloted 1 seat. The accord was signed by PCC leader P Shanmugam and former DMK chief minister RV Janakiraman. Eventhough the DPA was able to reach seat sharing agreement in Tamil Nadu earlier, talks regarding an agreement for Pondicherry remained inconclusive. But looks like they have finally able to work out a compromise. The final breakdown of the number of seats contested by the various parties in the DPA in Pondicherry is provided below,

Congress – 16
DMK – 11
PMK – 2
CPI – 1


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: