DPF Seat Sharing

With ADMK releasing its list of 182 candidates it formalizes the seat sharing among the various parties in the Democratic Peoples Front (DPF). MDMK which is the main ally of the ADMK in this election will contest in 35 seats, meanwhile DPI will contest 9 seats. Besides, the ADMK will allocate 2 seats each for the break away goups of the INTUC, and INL. One seat each has been alloted to Movendar Munnetra Kazhagam, Janata Dal (Secular) and splinter groups of Indian Union Muslim League and All India Forward Bloc. This brings to close the seat sharing agreements in the two major fronts. It remains to be seen if some sort of 3rd front can be formed by BJP and acor Vijaykanth's new party. However, this remains highly unlikely.

ADMK – 182
MDMK – 35
DPI – 9
INTUC – 2*
INL – 2
IUML – 1*
Janata Dal (S) – 1
Movendar Munnetra Kazhagam – 1
All India Forward Bloc – 1*

(*) – Splinter Groups


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: